Project team

Chris Prom, Project Lead

Chris Prom is the Interim Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson Dean of Libraries and University Librarian at the University of Illinois Library. He is also a Fellow of the Society of American Archivists. He holds a Ph.D. in History from the University of Illinois, with an emphasis in British social policy. in 2009-2010, he was a Fulbright Distinguished Scholar at the University of Dundee, where he led a project to help make digital preservation methods more accessible to archives and libraries. He has written extensively about topics relating to digital cultural heritage and is most recently the author of the 2nd edition of Preserving Email, a Technical Watch Report published by the Digital Preservation Coalition.  

Ruby Martinez, Email Archives COmmunity Fellow

Ruby Martinez is an MS/LIS graduate student at the University of Illinois and a 2020-2021 Spectrum Scholar. Her studies have focused primarily on archives, metadata standards and practices, and data and asset management. Her main goal is to take on a role where she can have an impact on the accessibility of resources important for areas like research and information literacy. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Criminal Justice from Texas A&M International University. 

Co-principal investigators

Marsha Barrett
Assistant Professor

Kyle Rimkus 
Preservation Librarian

Joanne Kaczmarek
Electronic Records Archivist

John Laskowski
User Experience Coordinator

Dan Dalpaiz
Web Application Developer

Heather Murphy
Chief Communications Officer

Peer advisory committee

Natalie Baur 
Independent Consultant

Jeanette Hatcher
Texas A&M International University

Kyna Herzinger
University of Louisville

Nicole Hemmer 
Columbia University

Petrina D. Jackson 
Syracuse University

Kate Murray 
Library of Congress

Jamie Patrick-Burns 
State Archives of North Carolina

Tim Pyatt 
Wake Forest University

Aaron Rubinstein 
University of Massachusetts

Mike Shallcross 
Indiana University